Some Tips on How to Avoid Technological Disasters

I missed my weekly posting goal last week, so the following is the first of two posts this week. Note how honestly I’m approaching this situation – you should also know that it may or may not have been (extremely) painful for me to write this.

Some tips on how to avoid Technological Disasters, which I’m afraid are no less psychologically distressing than natural/physical ones.

  1. Put backups on USBs, discs, hard-drives, SD cards, etc.
  2. Make backups of everything. (PC, smartphone, tablet, MP3 player, etc.).
  3. And then make backups of those backups.
  4. Update your backups in a timely and consistent manner (meaning, you should do it every day, week, month, or year, depending on how often you edit/change those files, as well as how much progress you’re willing to randomly loose).
  5. Just because your files are on a cloud drive, doesn’t mean you cannot loose them, and therefore you should make backups of those files as well.
  6. Physical copies are always nice, until they’re not (as in, when you are running out of square feet to put those physical boxes of paper).
  7. Realize that electronics are considered “old” at three years, and rather ancient at five. (Translation: this means that the possibility that something will break or ___ becomes significantly more likely as time passes by each day, so therefore you should do the items above.)
  8. If you rely on a backup software to make a copy of everything for you on a reoccurring schedule, make sure that the software gives you a size of your backup, and keep an eye on how much empty space you have left, because if you don’t, certain files may overwrite other files in the process without your knowledge or approval because repeated backups can be HUGE. (This is because the software has been making backups of your backups, so before you know it, everything is 400%+ the size it used to be, which speeds up how long it takes before your device runs out of room, thus in turn speeding up your appointment with technological disaster.)
  9. If you create or download HQ video files, it is best to keep those on a separate drive, because it is unnecessary to backup those types of files on a reoccurring basis since they’re not changed (unless you are a video-creator or editor).
  10. If you’re unsure your backup is complete or uncorrupted, find an older one that you know was done before Bad Things Happened, and name it “Stable Backup insert date.” Do not delete this stable version (for years, if necessary), because you never know when you may find that something is missing from the more recent backup that you’ve used to restore your files.
  11. Regularly check how full your drive is. And make room or get a new one if needed. (Empty out the trash, delete really old backups, etc.)

Questions, thoughts, comments on my tips? Anything you would add? Let me know in the comments below. 😉

18 thoughts on “Some Tips on How to Avoid Technological Disasters

    1. Oh I’m so sorry to hear that you’ve experienced such things as well. I honestly didn’t mean to bring up anything painful. ^_^ Apparently my sarcasm didn’t really come out successfully as I’d hoped when I was writing this… 😛 I was actually laughing at myself the entire time. And in the end I survived and 99% of the things were restored properly, thank heavens. ❤

      Thank you for reading and commenting, Aberdeen! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha, you’re so good, I am not genuinely upset by any of the memories anymore. I’m more amused at myself, like you are. And no, the sarcasm was delightful, and I’m glad to hear you got most of your stuff back. =D

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Not gonna lie, I am kind of freaked out now. xD
    Not freaked out enough to go be responsible and double-triple back up all my stuff, tho.
    I’m too lazy and I’m gonna get burned one of these days, I just know it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. If I could go back in time to my 18 year old self….I would say this:”2.Make backups of everything. (PC, smartphone, tablet, MP3 player, etc.).” I learned the hard way….

    “6.Physical copies are always nice, until they’re not (as in, when you are running out of square feet to put those physical boxes of paper).” Yes! One thing to note would be to Google any old physical computer items to see if they might be worth anything. It will magically provide space for the things you actually need! There are quite a few ‘vintage’ computer geeks that love building old computer systems and you never know if it might be a ‘rare find’ for a fellow ‘treasure hunter’. LGR is one YouTuber who is slightly obsessive about old computers and he shares ‘new’ finds that would be considered ‘old and useless’ in today’s mindset. I still have a notebook from 2012 that has Windows XP and all my old PC games on it. I love seeing kids’ reaction to it like it is some kind of ancient communication device when in my mind the technology is not that old!

    It reminds me of the verse that mentions what Christ thought about not wasting the food left over after feeding the 5000: “When they were filled, he said unto his disciples, Gather up the fragments that remain, that nothing be lost.”- John 6:12 Bottom line: When there is no way that it can be reused, throw it away. If you can’t use it, but someone else can, give it away. If you haven’t backed up your drives, it slowly becomes wasted time and money especially when your computer gives you the BSoD(blue screen of death).

    Thank you for reminding us to back-up our files!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the thoughtful comment, Susan!

      That’s a good point and good to know! I certainly love collecting older things so I can sympathize.

      I didn’t intend to tell anyone that they must buy new computer/s/devices or anything, just to be aware that things do get old and the possibility of unreliability increases. ^_^

      But yeah, it’s cool to see old tech and exactly how far we’ve come. Hard for me to believe sometimes.

      Oh you’re very welcome =) Thanks again for reading!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Very good points– a lot of which I need to get better at. Thanks for the post!

    Also, I love the C. S. Lewis quote in your bio about holy wisdom– it is one of my favorite quotes, and it was nice to come across it again today!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading and commenting, Gabrielle! I’m happy to hear that it’s helpful to you. 🙂

      Oh thank you! It’s certainly one of my favorites (and, of course, many thanks to you again for reaching out to me first and helping me understand Till We Have Faces – I still remember that, and how much I struggled with it when I read it myself <3)

      Like

  4. Ahhh, good advice. I finally recently got all my files organized and I have a backup copy on my hard drive and on two separate flash drives and it’s such a weight off my mind, lol. I used to not know for sure where everything was/if I had it in multiple places. So going through files back to when I was TEN was a chore but very worth it. XD Espeically because I used to just keep all my writing on a single flash drive and you can imagine how it felt when I thought I’d lost it…

    Also, electronics are considered old after 3 years? 🧐 *slowly turns to look at her 7-year-old laptop* I appreciate her much more now, thanks for the perspective. XD

    I’m sorry you learned this from personal experience but glad it wasn’t too bad!! 😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so happy to hear that this is helpful!

      And yep. I know that feeling like you won’t believe xD. I’ve got stuff from when I was like eight…

      🙂 Like I said in one of the comments above, I was not trying to get everyone to buy new stuff every couple of years, but rather keep in mind that age affects the durability of those things. 🙂 Goodness knows I’m a stickler for using things until they break lol

      Thank you for your lovely comment, Sarah!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment